|
Resource restricted to the Northwestern University Community
Major indexes and other databases to support the study of Slavic Languages and Literatures
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
- Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications, published in the United States and Canada, relating to East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
- Access World News
- Full-text information and perspectives from many U.S. and international news sources.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
- Citations, abstracts and selected full-text articles covering topics in international affairs, collected largely from university- and foundation-funded research institutes, non-governmental organizations and academic conferences. Includes working papers, conference proceedings, journal and book abstracts, links to related resources, and a schedule of events in the international affairs scholarly community.
- Current Digest of the Post Soviet Press
- Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research, presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
- European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
- Citations to works published in Europe dealing with East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
- Historical Abstracts

- Citations and abstracts from more than 2,100 journals covering world history in approximately 50 languages.
- JSTOR
- Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals. Included are selected Slavic Studies journals. Intended to be an archive, JSTOR does not include the current issues of journals nor the most recent four or five years.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- Citations and abstracts of articles from hundreds of serials published around the world on linguistics and related topics such as bilingualism, language therapy, dialectology, and many others. Also includes coverage of recent books, occasionally papers, monographs, technical reports, and dissertations.
- MLA International Bibliography

- Bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- ProQuest Digital Dissertations
- Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Many dissertations from the 1990s to the present are full text.
- Web of Science
- Web of Science contains three individual databases, which may be searched separately or simultaneously: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Between these databases, virtually all areas of scholarship are covered. May be searched by cited reference.
Secondary indexes and databases to support the study of Slavic Languages and Literatures
- Academic Search Premier
- Multidisciplinary coverage of journal literature, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women\'s studies.
- Art Abstracts
- Citations and some abstracts to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and related disciplines.
- Communication Abstracts
- Citations and abstracts of literature in all aspects of communication and related fields, including film studies and public opinion.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
- Database of international business intelligence prepared by the Economist Intellligence Unit. Search by country, by title of publication, or by words or phrases within the documents.
- Econlit
- Citations and selected abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals as well as citations from edited collections, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
- Humanities Abstracts
- Bibliographic citations from more than 450 periodicals in topics such as archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature.
- Humanities International Index
- Comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing, Humanities International Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 journals.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
- Citations from an international selection of publications, including over 2600 journals, in all areas of the social sciences with emphasis on economics, political science, sociology and anthropology.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
- Provides citations and abstracts to articles published in more than 200 international journals and magazines in the performing arts, including dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and performance business.
- International Medieval Bibliography
- Covering the European Middle Ages, the International Medieval Bibliography includes entries from 4,000 periodicals and 5,000 miscellany volumes, including conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften.
- ISI Emerging Markets
- Full-text business news and intelligence, and company and financial information from emerging markets in Latin America, Asia and Europe.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Citations to articles covering the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400 to 1700 A.D.) in Europe.
- Project Muse
- Full text of over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
|