US Supreme Court Strikes Down Chicago Gun Ban

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

The Supreme Court has ruled that the right to gun ownership applies nationwide. The High Court's decision is a response to a challenge of gun ban in Chicago and one of its suburbs, and comes two years after the justices struck down a law in Washington, D.C. banning possession of handguns.

The five-to-four decision resulted from a case against the city of Chicago and its suburb of Oak Park. Both have laws that effectively ban handgun possession by almost all private citizens.

  • Read the case and decision. link.

Gun law in the United States is defined by a number of state and federal statutes. In the United States of America, the protection against infringement of the right to keep and bear arms is addressed in the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution. This right was affirmed in the landmark United States Supreme Court case District of Columbia v. Heller in 2008. (link)

There are 40 Right-to-Carry states: 37 have “shall issue” laws, requiring that carry permits be issued to applicants who meet uniform standards established by the state legislature. Two have fairly-administered discretionary-issue carry permit systems. Vermont respects the right to carry without a permit. Alaska and Arizona have “shall issue” permit systems for permit reciprocity1 with other states, and have allowed concealed carrying without a permit since 2003 and July 2010, respectively. Of the 10 non-RTC states, eight have restrictively-administered discretionary-issue systems; Illinois and Wisconsin have no permit system and prohibit carrying. (From: National Rifle Association. link)

Source: Democrats and Republicans - Rhetoric and Reality (link). Original sources of the dataGeneral Social Surveys (GSS).