America’s Transportation Awards Site Announces Regional Winners, Solicits Public Votes for People’s Choice Award, Top Project of 2011

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

AASHTO, the AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce have sponsored theAmerica’s Transportation Award for several years. Previous years’ award winners include the Laurel S-Curve Reconstruction Project in Laurel, MS (Under Budget Regional & People’s Choice, 2010),  I-35 Bridge in Minneapolis, MN (On Time Regional & Grand Prize, 2009), and Marquette Interchange, Milwaukee, WI (On Time Regional, 2008)

As in past years, this year’s awards will recognize projects by region in each of three categories: On Time, Under Budget, and Innovative Management techniques. The industry groups select the finalists and Grand Prize winner, while the public is asked to vote for the People’s Choice award. The finalists for People’s Choice are:
KS: K-23 Practical Improvement Project
MI: The Fix on I-196 Project
MA: Phiilipston Bridge Replacement Project
NH: Hampton Road Open Tolling Project
FL: I-10/I-95 Interchange "The Big I"
KY: Newtown Pike Extension
MT: Shiloh Road Project
WA: Operation I-5 Partnership Project
SC: Plans Online
UT: SR-171 3500 South Reconstruction Project
Voting is open until October 7, 2011.