Special Libraries Welcome Debbie Verhoff and Yvonne Spura

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

The Special Libraries Division is very pleased to welcome two new staff members to Special Libraries.

The Art Collection welcomes Debbie Verhoff as its new Public Services Librarian. Deb holds an MLIS from Simmons College in Boston and an MFA from Tufts University/School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. She comes to NUL from her most recent position as Head Librarian at the Art Institute of Boston at Lesley University, and has held several teaching appointments in the field of Instructional Technology.
As a visual artist and instructor, Debbie has held residencies at Firenze Arti Visive in Florence (Italy) in 2011, and at Les Tapies, l’Ardeche, France in 2010. As an arts librarian, Debbie views research as an integral part of the creative process for studio artists and designers.  She is sensitive to investigation and discovery that is experiential - visual, conceptual and kinesthetic.
Our new Archives Assistant Yvonne Spura is actually not new to Northwestern. In fact, she has worked part-time as a volunteer and temp in the Archives for several years, and has participated in a wide range of projects and library exhibits—including the processing of the Lawrence Dumas Papers, the Virgil Johnson Papers, and the Geology Department Field Notebooks, and assisting with several virtual and physical library exhibits.
Yvonne holds a Master’s degree in history and political science from the Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany) and a certificate in Museum Studies from Northwestern. She is fluent in German and Czech. Yvonne has worked in archives since she was a student worker in Germany, and has experience in institutional and academic archives, including the municipal archives of Baden-Württemberg and Hesse in Germany, the Hoover Institution at Stanford, and Special Collections at the University of Chicago. She first came to NUL as a volunteer in 2008, after moving to Evanston when her husband, Hans Thomalla, joined the faculty of the Bienen School of Music.
Welcome, Debbie and Yvonne!