Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Anthropology resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Anthropology as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.
Credo Reference
Users can search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources simultaneously on a wide variety of topics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource allows users to simultaneously search online encyclopedias of business, education, history, medicine, religion, and social science.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
This database has bibliographic information for articles from over 2,600 international journals on subjects such as economics, political sciences, sociology, and anthropology. There is no full text, but merely citations to articles. By using the advanced search feature, users can search a number of ways including by abstract, geographic area, journal title, or URL.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.
PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
ANTHROPOLOGY DATABASES
Anthropological Index Online
This database is an index of journals held by the Anthropology Library of the British Museum. Recently volumes 1-32 of the print Anthropology Index have been placed online, meaning that the database now covers materials from 1957 forward. Users can limit their search to items from a particular decade or year. They can also search by keyword, author, title, journal, or language. Finally, users can limit their searches to items about a particular continent, region, or subject area.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
eHRAF is a collection of documents about various cultures. In this database, each paragraph is subject indexed allowing users to find information they need not only in a single document, but in a single paragraph of a document. eHRAF uses the Outline of Cultural Materials and the Outline of World Cultures as the basis for its classification system.
Sociological Abstracts
This database contains citations and abstracts from over 2,500 journals, dissertations, conference papers, book reviews, and books on sociology. Also included are citations and abstracts to articles in related fields such as anthropology, economics, and medicine.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Anthropology and Modern Life
Call Number: 572 B662 2004
Circulating Collection
In this title, Franz Boas uses science in the hopes of breaking down racial and cultural barriers. He discusses a number of topics including defining race, alleged physiological and mental difference between races, and the mixed descent of European nations.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: 301 C7374 1997
Reference Collection
This book is divided into three parts--humanity, culture, and social life--each of which begins with an introduction to the subject. The first section looks at the evolution of man, including the development of language. Part II includes discussions of the foundation of culture, ethnicity and nationalism, and art. The final section examines personal identity, law and order, and politics.
Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Call Number: 016.301 K46c
Reference Collection
This annotated bibliography lists resources that can be used for research. Sections are divided by type of resource such as periodicals, bibliographies, reference sources. This book also lists resources for particular subfields, such as archaeology and physical anthropology, as well as by geographic area.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: L 305.803 E56
Reference Collection
This four volume set has articles ranging from two to ten pages covering the study of human behavior, culture, and society. With an international focus, the encyclopedia also includes bibliographies and indexes to allow for further research on the part of users.
A History of Anthropological Thought
Call Number: 306.01 E92h
Circulating Collection
Covering one anthropologist per chapter, the author examines the thoughts of 15 noted anthropologists from the late 17th century to the early 20th century. The appendix includes short biographies of 10 more anthropologists. The work includes a bibliography and extensive index.
Readings in Anthropology
Call Number: 572.08 F899r 1968
Circulating Collection
Volume two of this set covers cultural anthropology.
SERIALS
The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other anthropological journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.
Annual Review of Anthropology
This journal is international in scope and covers a number of topics within anthropology such as cultural anthropology and ethnography. The back issues are available online and go back to the 1970s.
Critique of Anthropology
Published four times a year, Critique of Anthropology publishes works that are experimental in nature, often challenging the conventional wisdom. The journal prints articles on all branches of anthropology.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07 |