Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago Campus have compiled the following list of Communications resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Communications as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is the ability to search for images.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
General Science Abstracts
This database contains abstracts to articles in more than 140 English-language periodicals on the subjects of general sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental science, and physics. Also included are symposia, conferences, and some letters to the editor. The database can be search by keyword, author, or title.
PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.
Periodicals Abstracts
This database provides citations and abstracts to numerous general and academic journals. It also include transcripts to more than 80 television and radio programs. Users can limit their search to full text items, items that are held in Northwestern Library’s collection, and to the type of article.
Sociological Abstracts
This database contains citations and abstracts from over 2,500 journals, dissertations, conference papers, book reviews, and books on sociology. Also included are citations and abstracts to articles in related fields such as anthropology, economics, and medicine.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
COMMUNICATIONS DATABASES
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
This database contains abstracts and citations to articles published in AHSA journals. Once connected to ABSEARCH, choose “Am. Speech-Language-Hearing Assoc.” from the Database menu before searching. Searching can be done by keyword, author, and title.
ComAbstracts
Covering more than 55 communication science journals, ComAbstracts has more than 13,000 bibliographic records from 1990 forward. Users can sort search results by the number of times a keyword appears.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Containing citations, abstracts, and some full text of articles, this database addresses research in communication and mass media. Searching can be limited to full text, scholarly publications, and a particular publication.
Communication Abstracts
The database covers articles on general communication; mass communication; advertising; marketing; broadcasting; communication theory; interpersonal and intrapersonal communication; small group communication; organizational communication; journalism; public relations; radio; public opinion; speech; and television.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database covers research into linguistics and language use. Users can search by keyword limiting their search to a number of different areas including title, abstract, language, and publication type. Users can also limit their search by date.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies
Call Number: 302.203 W339d 1997
Reference Collection
This dictionary brings together the latest information on media policy & practice and communication & cultural theory.
Communication and the Mass Media: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Call Number: 016.3022 B651c
Reference Collection
An annotated bibliography, this work divides resources by type of work, such as bibliographies, biographical sources, and periodicals. There is also an author/title index as well as a subject index.
Elements of Speechwriting and Public Speaking
Call Number: 808.5 C771e
Circulating Collection
Divided into three parts, this book covers preparation, delivery, and topics of special interest.
Webster’s New World Dictionary of Media and Communication
Call Number: 302.2303 W423W 1996
Reference Collection
This dictionary defines technical terms and includes descriptions of associations and companies. The dictionary also includes terms used by British, Canadian, French, and other international communications.
EBOOKS
Intercultural Communication: Pragmatics, Genealogy, Deconstruction
This title includes eight chapters addressing the complexities of intercultural communication. Topics include culture and difference, the politics of intercultural communication, and the ideal of intercultural learning.
Communication Studies: The Essential Introduction
Aiming to be an introduction for students in communication sciences, the book examines theories in the communication sciences as well as practical perspectives. At the end of the book is a glossary of terms as well as a bibliography to aid in further research.
After Rhetoric: The Study of Discourse Beyond
The author introduces “discourse studies” in chapters one and two, the history of the belief in culture and languages in chapters three and four, alternative forms of discourse theory in chapters five, six, and seven, and what to do with the ideas in the book in chapter eight. The book is heavily indexed and includes a works cited section for further study.
From Language to Communication
Aimed at an audience between specialists in the field and beginners, the author provides an outline of the basic issues between language and communication. Topics covered in this work include meaning, modern linguistics, and sociolinguistics.
SERIALS
The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other communication journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.
Journal of Communication
The main journal in communication studies, this interdisciplinary title concentrates on communication research, practice, policy, and theory. The journal also includes book reviews and symposia.
Language and Communication
Another interdisciplinary journal, Language and Communication publishes research relevant to verbal and nonverbal communication. Communication is examined through the lens of anthropology, the arts, artificial intelligence, education, ethology, linguistics, physiology, philosophy, psychology and the social sciences.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07
|