Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of computer science resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in computer science as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles in English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. The database covers trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as conference proceedings.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
General Science Abstracts
This database contains abstracts to articles in more than 140 English-language periodicals on the subjects of general sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental science, and physics. Also included are symposia, conferences, and some letters to the editor. The database can be search by keyword, author, or title.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
COMPUTER INFORMATION SYSTEMS DATABASES
CompuScience
Covering computer science and computer technology, this database provides citations and abstracts to over 320 journals, conference proceedings, books, and non-conventional materials in the fields. Coverage begins in 1972 and includes the areas of theoretical computer science, software, and artificial intelligence.
Gartner Intraweb
Gartner Intraweb is an online service providing product and market research reports for the information technology (IT) industry as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and electronic commerce.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
Containing references to popular magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals, this database contains abstracts to articles about personal computing products and developments. This database is also a good sources for hardware and software reviews.
MathSciNet
Focusing on mathematics, computer science, statistics, and applied mathematics, the database includes citations and abstracts to articles in these fields. Many of the citations include links to electronic versions of the articles.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Artificial Intelligence: A Beginner's Guide
Call Number: 006.3 W579ar
Circulating Collection
This title introduces the reader to what artifical intelligience (AI) is and is not. The author also examines pllications of artificial intelligence, how AI is inspired by biology, and future trends in AI.
Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary
Call Number: 004.0321 F853c 2001
Reference Collection
Made up of over 6,000 entries, this work defines computer terms and concepts. Covered are the latest developments in the Internet and wireless communication as well as information about Windows, Macintosh, and Unix.
Computer Sciences
Call Number: 004 C73798
Reference Collection
A four volume work aimed at a general audience, this title looks at the history of computer science as well as key concepts and influential figures.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Call Number: L 004.03 H496e
Reference Collection
This single volume encyclopedia includes the history of computing, descriptions of different types of computers, and biographies. Entries include a brief bibliography along with some black and white illustrations.
Database Design for Mere Morals: A Hands On Guide to Relational Database Design
Call Number: 005.756 H557d 2003
Circulating Collection
The author looks at the basic principles behind relational database design. Platform independent, this book contains real-world examples and detailed explanations.
Linked: The New Science of Networks
Call Number: 003 B223l
Circulating Collection
Author Albert-Laszlo Barabasi traces the history of connected systems, beginning with Swiss mathematician Leonhard Euler's first forays into graph theory in the late 1700s to biologists' development of cancer drugs based on a new understanding of cellular networks.
Mathematics and Physics for Programmers
Call Number: 510.24005 K76m
Circulating Collection
The author aims to give programmers a thorough understanding of the mathematics and physics they will need in game development and other applications. The title comes with a CD-ROM with simulations of the mathematical and physical principles discussed.
Storage Networks: The Complete Reference
Call Number: 004.6 S734s
Computer Collection
Divided into seven parts, this guide examines a number of storage networks, including SAN, NAS, Fibre Channel, file systems, virtualization, database storage, and snapshots. This reference book is aimed at the storage professional.
SERIALS
The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other computer science journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Web site.
Chicago Journal of Theoretical Computer Science
This peer-reviewed journal examines developments in theoretical computer science. Articles are published as they are accepted to this online journal.
WEB SITE
FOLDOC Free Online Dictionary on Computing
This online dictionary allows users to search for terms and obtain pronunciations, definitions, and cross references accessible through hyperlinks.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07
|