Economics

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Economics resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Economics as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Credo Reference
Users can search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources simultaneously on a wide variety of topics.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource allows users to simultaneously search online encyclopedias of business, education, history, medicine, religion, and social science.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
This database has bibliographic information for articles from over 2,600 international journals on subjects such as economics, political sciences, sociology, and anthropology. There is no full text, but merely citations to articles. By using the advanced search feature, users can search a number of ways including by abstract, geographic area, journal title, or URL.

JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.

PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.

Project Muse
Project Muse offers full text articles to a number of Johns Hopkins University Press journals in the humanities and social sciences. Users can search by title, author, and journal name.

Social Science Abstracts
Social Science Abstracts contains bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 550 international, English-language periodicals in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Users can search by keyword, author, title, and a variety of other fields.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

ECONOMICS DATABASES

ABI/INFORM
Covering more than 1,800 business and management journals, ABI/INFORM provides citations and abstracts to articles about all aspects of business, including organizational behavior. There are also some full text articles provided. Users can search the database in a number of ways including author, subject, and title, and limit their search to full text articles and scholarly publications.

Business Source Premier
With domestic and international sources, Business Source Premier provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles from business journals, magazines, and scholarly journals. Business Source Premier also includes company reports on more than 5,000 companies, a searchable image collection, and country economic reports.

EconLit
EconLit provides citations and some abstracts of articles from over 400 economic periodicals. It also includes citations for dissertations, collections, and working papers. In addition to being able to search by title, author, and subject, users can also search by author affiliation, geographic designation, and references.

Elsevier Handbooks in Economics
Full-text of all economics handbooks available in this series.

To access, follow these instructions:
Click on Books (top green set of tabs)
Click on Handbooks

The library subscribes to those Handbooks that have green squares next to them. You may access from off-campus after you are first authenticated as an NU user.

MathSciNet
Focusing on mathematics, computer science, statistics, and applied mathematics, the database includes citations and abstracts to articles in these fields. Many of the citations include links to electronic versions of the articles.

OECD Index
This database is an index of titles published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and related organizations. Users can search by title, author, keyword, or publication date.

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

Controversies in Monetary Economics
Call Number: 332.46 S664c
Circulating Collection
The author looks at past and present monetary controversy and monetary policy in the contemporary global economy. Addressed are alternative approaches from traditional quantity theory to post Keynesian theories of endogenous money.

Economic Issues Today: Alternative Approaches
Call Number: 330.904 C321e 1999
Circulating Collection
This title looks at 14 economics issues and analyzes them from a conservative, liberal, or radical perspective.

Economist Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics
Call Number: 330.01519 E197
Reference Collection
Examining economic indicators worldwide, such as GDP, population, exchange rates, disposable income, public expenditure, and bond yields, the authors explain how to interpret and use these indicators in order to better plan investments.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics
Call Number: 330.03 E564 1994
Reference Collection
This single volume encyclopedia has entries on economic terms, schools of thought, and some political terms related to economics. All the articles are signed and include a bibliography for further research.

Naked Economics: Undressing the Dismal Science
Call Number: 330 W561n
Circulating Collection
This title seeks to demystify key economic concepts. The author discusses government, financial markets, and globalization.

The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics
Call Number: 330.3 P16 1998
Reference Collection
This dictionary covers a vast array of economics topics and over 655 biographies and more than 4,000 cross references.

SERIALS

The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other economics journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.

Contributions to Economic Analysis & Policy
This journal uses microeconomics to analyze business, consumer behavior, and public policy. The articles are meant to have practical application to public policy, business policy, and individual decision making.

Economics Bulletin: EB
This is an online refereed journal that publishes notes, commentary, and preliminary results. The journal also includes conference announcements, letters to the editor, and research announcements.

The Economist
This weekly publication looks at economic and political stories from around the world. The online supplement provides country briefings.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm