Environmental Sciences

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Environmental Sciences/Studies resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Environmental Sciences/Studies as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES/STUDIES DATABASES

GeoRef
This geology database contains citations about North American geology from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. All aspects of geology are covered including geophysics, paleontology, geochemistry, and maps. Citations are drawn from more than 3,500 journals and include some abstracts.

Pollution Abstracts
This database contains citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, and other documents. Users can search by keyword, title, and author and limit their search to English only materials. Within the search results are links to “Find It @ NU” which takes the user to NUCat in order to find materials at the Northwestern Library.

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

Cooper’s Comprehensive Environmental Desk Reference
Call Number: 363.7 C776c
Reference Collection
This reference book defines terms used by those in the environmental field as well as frequently used acronyms. The book in accompanied by a spell check CD-ROM.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Call Number: 363.7003 M743e
Reference Collection
International in scope, this encyclopedia provides an alphabetical listing of entries on a number of subjects in the environmental sciences. This work also provides entries on people, places, and institutions. Most entries are followed by a bibliography with print and online resources for further research.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
Call Number: L 574.503 E56
Reference Collection
This three volume work provides information about the effect of environmental issues on mankind. The work also suggests cures for environmental degradation. Included in the set is an extensive index and numerous cross references.

Environmental Encyclopedia
Call Number: 363.7 E61 2003
Reference Collection
This two-volume work arranges information alphabetically as well as including a chronology of environmental events, a summary of environmental legislation, and a list of environmental organizations. Entries for organizations include contact information and general entries include information for additional sources.

Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia
Call Number: L 503 V269 2002
Reference Collection
This general scientific encyclopedia covers all areas of science and includes information about developments since the 1994 edition. New articles have been added as well as older material being revised.

EBOOKS

Outlooks: Readings for Environmental Literacy
This book is divided into four sections—overview, problems of resource scarcity, problems of environmental degradation, and social solutions. Within these sections are articles originally printed in publications such as Sierra, U.S. News and World Report, and National Wildlife.

Just Environments: Intergenerational, International, and Interspecies Issues
This title examines what happens when social and political issues conflict with environmental issues. Divided into four parts, the book first examines issues that frame environmental debates, obligations to future generations, the relationship with developing countries, and the treatment of non-human species.

A Dictionary of Ecology
The dictionary attempts to cover all aspects of ecology and environmental sciences. While covering a number of fields including plant and animal physiology, climatology, meteorology, and oceanography, this book also includes biographical information about important scientists in this area.

The New Penguin Dictionary of Science
Covering a wide range of scientific topics including chemistry, physics, and molecular biology, this reference work provides concise definitions of scientific terms. This work includes tables and illustrations as well as internal links to other entries.

WEB SITES

Terms of the Environment
This government sponsored Web site gives short definitions of numerous terms used in the environmental sciences. Also included is a dictionary of acronyms and abbreviations.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm