Mathematics

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Mathematics resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Mathematics as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

General Science Abstracts
This database contains abstracts to articles in more than 140 English-language periodicals on the subjects of general sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental science, and physics. Also included are symposia, conferences, and some letters to the editor. The database can be search by keyword, author, or title.

JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

MATHEMATICS DATABASE

Gartner Intraweb
Gartner Intraweb is an online service providing product and market research reports for the information technology (IT) industry as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and electronic commerce.

MathSciNet
Focusing on mathematics, computer science, statistics, and applied mathematics, the database includes citations and abstracts to articles in these fields. Many of the citations include links to electronic versions of the articles.

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

Applied Mathematics: An Introduction
Call Number: 530.15 P771a
Circulating Collection
By presenting a selection of problems of importance, the author hopes to interest advanced undergraduates and graduate students in applied mathematics. The problems are drawn from the physical as well as social sciences.

Calculus
Call Number: L 517 A645c 1967
Circulating Collection
The second edition of this two volume set includes a discussion of linear algebra and new, easier exercises. Each new concept is proceeded by a historical introduction tracing its development to its precise mathematical formulation. Volume I covers calculus of functions of one variable as well as linear algebra. Volume II covers multivariable calculus and further developments of linear algebra.

Geometry: Euclid and Beyond
Call Number: 516 H335g
Circulating Collection
This book is a reader of Euclid’s Elements and includes complete proofs, introduction of coordinates, the theory of area, geometrical constructions & finite field extensions, history of the parallel postulate, the various non-Euclidean geometries, and the regular and semi-regular polyhedra.

God Created the Integers: The Mathematical Breakthroughs that Changed History
Call Number: 510.9 G577
Circulating Collection
This title brings together 31 important works from the history of mathematics.

EBOOKS

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics
Covering all aspects of pure and applied mathematics, this dictionary has over 3,200 entries. The dictionary also includes biographies of over 200 key thinkers in mathematics.

Discrete Mathematics: Elementary and Beyond
This undergraduate textbook is an introduction to discrete mathematics. Within the chapters are problems for the user to solve. The answers are contained in a chapter at the end of the book.

Schaum’s Outline of Theory and Problems of College Mathematics
The third edition of this work covers algebra, discrete mathematics, precalculus, and introduction to calculus. This new edition is more calculus based with a section on the graphing calculator. The book includes more than 1,500 fully solved problems.

Foundation Mathematics
A different area of mathematics is covered in each of this book’s 12 chapters. The book begins with arithmetic and basic algebra and ends with differentiation and integration. The authors also provide a number of problems for the user to work on in order to understand the concepts presented.

SERIALS

The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other mathematical journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.

Communications in Mathematical Sciences
This quarterly journal publishes articles on mathematical modelings, applied and stochastic analyses, and numerical computations on problems that arise in physical, biological, engineering, and financial applications.

Geometry and Topology
An international journal, Geometry and Topology covers all aspects of geometry and topology as well as their applications.

WEB SITE

The Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics
Arranged into short, introductory articles, this Web site allows users to search by subject in several areas of the site, including the online mathematics dictionary and the mathematics subject classification.

MathWorld Encyclopedia
This regularly updated resource includes the latest discoveries in math as well as being a mathemetics resource. MathWorld includes over 300 definitions of mathematical terms, citations to journal articles, and a search engine that allows for basic and advanced searching.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm