Medical Informatics

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of medical informatics resources that can be accessed remotely to obtain journal articles as well as conference proceedings. These resources are designed to answer basic questions in medical informatics as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Information about accessing resources through the Galter Health Sciences Library can be found here. Medical informatics students in the online program can request that materials be sent to them by filling out the form found here.

MEDICAL INFORMATICS DATABASES

BIOSIS Previews
This database indexes more than 10,000 biological and medical science journals from 1969 to the present. In the database, users can limit searches to types of living things, such as plants, animals, and microorganisms. Users can also limit searches to English language materials.

CompuScience
Covering computer science and computer technology, this database provides citations and abstracts to over 320 journals, conference proceedings, books, and non-conventional materials in the fields. Coverage begins in 1972 and includes the areas of theoretical computer science, software, and artificial intelligence.

Gartner Intraweb
Gartner Intraweb is an online service providing product and market research reports for the information technology (IT) industry as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and electronic commerce.

MathSciNet
Focusing on mathematics, computer science, statistics, and applied mathematics, the database includes citations and abstracts to articles in these fields. Many of the citations include links to electronic versions of the articles.

Medline (access through Northwestern University Libraries)
Medline (access through Galter Health Sciences Library)
MEDLINE is available through two search interfaces. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the premier database for medicine and allied health fields. Over 4,600 journals are indexed, from 1950s to the present. It covers the fields of biomedicine, dentistry, nursing and allied health.

PubMed (access through Northwestern University Libraries)
PubMed (access through Galter Health Sciences Library)
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search interface. You can save your searches and set up email alerts by using the My NCBI feature.

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles in English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. The database covers trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as conference proceedings.

Expanded Academic ASAP (EXAC)
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

General Science Abstracts
This database contains abstracts to articles in more than 140 English-language periodicals on the subjects of general sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental science, and physics. Also included are symposia, conferences, and some letters to the editor. The database can be search by keyword, author, or title.

IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

EBOOKS

Handbook of Research on Informatics in Healthcare and Biomedicine
This collection describes and analyzes recent breakthroughs in healthcare and biomedicine providing comprehensive coverage and definitions of important issues, concepts, new trends and advanced technologies.

Healthcare Information Systems: Challenges of the New Millennium
This title looks at 10 innovative revolutions in information technology in medicine. These revolutions include information security, telemedicine, and artificial intelligence in medicine.

Informatics for the clinical laboratory
This title is organized into three sections: the first deals with the concept, organization, and management of laboratory information services; the second with technical aspects of computer systems; and the third with applications. Each chapter contains a glossary and the a comprehensive glossary is compiled at the end of the book.

JOURNALS

BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making
Journal of Biomedical Informatics
Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association
Medical Informatics and the Internet in Medicine

Other informatics journals available here.

For assistance using the resources listed please contact the Galter Health Sciences Library reference desk at 312-503-8109, or e-mail for medical questions, or contact the Schaffner Library reference desk at 312-503-8422, or e-mail for informatics questions.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07


Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm