Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Organizational behavior resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Organizational behavior as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
ORGANIZATIONAL BEHAVIOR DATABASES
ABI/INFORM
Covering more than 1,800 business and management journals, ABI/INFORM provides citations and abstracts to articles about all aspects of business, including organizational behavior. There are also some full text articles provided. Users can search the database in a number of ways including author, subject, and title, and limit their search to full text articles and scholarly publications.
Business Source Premier
With domestic and international sources, Business Source Premier provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles from business journals, magazines, and scholarly journals. Business Source Premier also includes company reports on more than 5,000 companies, and searchable image collection, and country economic reports.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
Call Number: 658.003 B632 2005
Reference Collection
Volume 11 of this encyclopedia set has alphabetical entries in the area of organization behavior. Entries are typically 1-2 pages long and include a short bibliography of additional sources at the end of the entries.
The Blackwell Handbook of Principles of Organizational Behavior
Call Number: 658 B632
Reference Collection
This title, geared toward managers, has 29 chapters addressing a different organizational behavior topic in each. Topics include structuring interviews to hire the best people, controlling turnover, and managing work stress. The title also includes a bibliography for further research and an index.
Classics of Organizational Behavior
Call Number: 658.4 C6142 2001
Circulating Collection
This title is divided into six sections—the origins or organizational behavior; motivation and performance; interpersonal and group behavior; leadership and power; organizations, work processes, and people; organizational change and development.
Handbook of Organizational Culture & Climate
Call Number: 658.4 H2365
Circulating Collection
This title gives an overview of current research, theory, and practice in this field. Divided into five sections, the title covers culture and climate; measurement and outcome of organizational culture and climate; the dynamics of culture and climate change; culture climate, commitment, and careers; and international perspectives on cultures.
Organizational Behavior: A Management Challenge
Call Number: 658.4 N865o 1993
Circulating Collection
This textbook is divided into five parts—an introduction, individual behavior, behavior in groups, managing for performance, and the larger context of organizational behavior. Also included in this work is a glossary and extensive index.
EBOOKS
Managing Organizational Behavior
This book seeks to bring together the knowledge about managing people’s behavior in organizations. Topics include managing stress, decision making, and communicating effectively.
SERIALS
The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other organizational behavior journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.
Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes
This monthly journal provides original empirical research, theory development, literature reviews, and methodological advancements in the field of organizational behavior.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07
|