Philosophy

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Philosophy resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Philosophy as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Permier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

Humanities Abstracts
Humanities Abstracts contains citations from more than 450 periodicals in topics such as archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. The database can be searched by keyword, author, title, and a variety of other fields.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource allows users to simultaneously search online encyclopedias of business, education, history, medicine, religion, and social science.

Oxford Reference Online
This resource contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. All are fully indexed and cross-searchable.

PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.

Project Muse
Project Muse offers full text articles to a number of Johns Hopkins University Press journals in the humanities and social sciences. Users can search by title, author, and journal name.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

PHILOSOPHY DATABASE

ATLAS Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database includes citations and abstracts to articles in 1,400 journals and over 14,000 monographs. The database focuses primarily on the Christian tradition and Western thought.

Past Masters
Past Masters (InteLex) provides access to scholarly editions of the works of selected philosophers. The Past Masters group includes, but is not limited to: Hegel, Aristotle, Sidgewick, Boyle, Leibniz, and many others. The full listing is available on the Past Masters website.

Philosopher’s Index
International in scope, this database is made up of citations and abstracts to articles in books and journals about philosophy and related subjects.

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

Dictionary of World Philosophy
Call Number: 103 I11d
Reference Collection
This concise dictionary defines terms and ideas in the field of world philosophy. This title is also available as an e-book through this link.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: L 103 E26e
Reference Collection
This eight volume classic includes biographies of noted philosophers up to the early part of the 20th century, philosophical terms, and entries about particular ideas, such as emotion and feeling.

Key Ideas in Human Thought
Call Number: 031 K44
Reference Collection
With over 2,000 essays, Key Ideas in Human Thought looks at ideas that have shaped the modern world. Entries begin with a definition of terms and then goes into the subject’s historical context, current thinking in that subject, and the future. Also included are bibliographies for further reading.

The Many Faces of Philosophy: Reflections from Plato to Arendt
Call Number: 100 M295
Circulating Collection
This book is a collection of essays written by noteworthy philosophers including Plato, Augustine, and Thomas Hobbes.

The Philosopher’s Guide to Sources, Research Tools, Professional Life, and Related Fields
Call Number: 016.1 D317p
Reference Collection
This annotated bibliography divides itself by resources for various time periods, philosophy branches, types of resources, and resources in related fields. It also includes entries for works in foreign languages.

Plato Unmasked: The Dialogues Made New
Call Number: 881P5 JEq
Circulating Collection
This new translation of Plato’s Dialogues allow readers to easily understand Plato’s famous work.

World of Ideas: A Dictionary of Important Theories, Concepts, Beliefs, and Thinkers
Call Number: 103 R738w
Reference Collection
Including discussions of big bang theory, Freudian psychology, and capitalism and communism, this title looks at a number of important ideas and theories. Entries are alphabetized and heavily cross referenced. This title pays particular attention to multicultural influences and contemporary thought.

EBOOKS

Epistemology: Contemporary Readings
This anthology is divided into nine chapters covering a number of areas of epistemology, such as skepticism, memory, and perception. Each section of this work begins with an introductory essay before presenting the reader with classic and contemporary readings on the subject.

A Short History of Ethics: A History of Moral Philosophy from the Homeric Age to the 20th Century
The author looks at the development of ethics through the ages. Each chapter focuses on a particular author or movement.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
This concise dictionary provides biographies of all the major philosophers, including 50 new entries for contemporary philosophers. There are new entries for developing philosophical fields and added entries on non-Western and non-European philosophies.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Not only does this dictionary cover philosophical topics and important philosophers, this title also defines laughter and the meaning of life as well as relevant terms from other disciplines. Also included are terms from Chinese, Islamic, Indian, and Jewish philosophical traditions.

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
With more than 2,000 entries this encyclopedia is an introduction to the field of philosophy. It covers the time period of ancient Egypt to the present day. As the title suggests, this work is a shorter version of the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The online version of this ten-volume work regularly adds new entries and updates older entries. Many of the entries also include links to Web resources from learned societies and academic institutions.

SERIALS

The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other philosophical journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.

Continental Philosophy Review
This international journal seeks to publish articles about fundamental philosophical problems and provide unique solutions to them. Articles are published in English, German, or French with summaries in English for all articles.

WEB SITES

Ethics Update
Ethics Update’s goal is provide current updates in the field of ethics. The Web site is divided into three areas—ethics theory, resources, and applied ethics.

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This Web site contains scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in all areas of philosophy. It is continually revised and updated. Entries are cross referenced and searchable.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm