Psychology

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Psychology resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Psychology as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.

PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.

Social Science Abstracts
Social Science Abstracts contains bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 550 international, English-language periodicals in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Users can search by keyword, author, title, and a variety of other fields.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

PSYCHOLOGY DATABASES

BIOSIS Previews
This database indexes more than 10,000 biological and medical science journals from 1969 to the present. In the database, users can limit searches to types of living things, such as plants, animals, and microorganisms. Users can also limit searches to English language materials.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
This database includes citations and abstracts of materials about the growth and development of children up to the age of 21. Updated monthly, this database covers the period from 1927 to the present. Users can search by keyword and author and limit their search to many types of documents.

ERIC
Although primarily an education database, ERIC includes citations, abstracts, and some full text articles about psychology. The database covers a number of fields of psychology, including child psychology, community psychology, individual psychology, and sports psychology.

Medline
International in scope, Medline covers materials in the biological, physical, psychological, and social sciences. The database contains citations to over 4,000 journals. In addition to searching by keyword and author, users can also search by grant number, gene symbol, and molecular sequence.

PsycARTICLES
Accessible through Journals@Ovid Full Text, the database contains full text of journals published by the American Psychological Association.

PsycINFO
Containing citations, abstracts, and some full text, this database contains references to articles in psychology as well as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. In addition to citations and abstracts of articles, the database also contains references to books and book chapters. Users can search by keyword, author, and source title as well as limit their search to articles the database has full text.

PubMed
PubMed includes over 15 million citations to journals in the life sciences, including psychology, back to the 1950s. It also includes links to some full text sources.

Wiley Interscience Journals
This database is a collection of journals on the subjects of astronomy, business and management, computer science, economics, education, mathematics, physics, psychology, science, and the social sciences

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: 150.3 A639
Reference Collection
In addition to the alphabetical entries, this dictionary includes biographical entries, information on organizations and institutions, psychological tests and assessment instruments, as well as psychotherapy and psychotherpeutic approaches.

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Call Number: L 150.3 E562
Reference Collection
This encyclopedia looks at the psychological underpinnings of human behaviors and includes information on clinical psychology, abnormal psychology, personality, and other subjects.

Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis
Call Number: L 616.89003 E56
Reference Collection
Made up of basic information from the fields of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis, this title is aimed at students and those in the mental health field.

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: 150.3 E564
Reference Collection
This eight volume set covers all areas of psychology and is made up of 500-7000 word articles. The encyclopedia also includes more than 400 biographies of notable people in the field of psychology. The work is heavily cross referenced and allows users to see how subjects are interrelated.

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence
Call Number: 305.23103 G151
Reference Collection
The 900 articles in this encyclopedia cover child development from birth to young adulthood. It covers ideas, theories, and people involved in child psychology.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: 150.3 G151
Reference Collection
This encyclopedia covers important terms, theories, and people. Also included are bibliographies for continued research.

Psychology—A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Call Number: 016.15 B355p
Reference Collection
A resource to help students and beginning researchers, this guide lists resources in a variety of areas in psychology. Included in the list are journals, indexes, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other sources.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Reference Collection: 029.6 A531p 2001
This title includes guidelines for preparing texts for publication in psychology journals. A number of topics are covered, including organization of a manuscript, APA editorial style, and manuscript processing.

EBOOKS

Introduction to Social Psychology
In this book, the author explains social psychology in a way that is easy for students to understand. It is also a valuable resource for professional psychologists.

Controversies in Psychology
The author examines debates within the psychology community, especially those involving control and manipulation and the differences between groups of people.

Introduction to Individual Psychology
The 21 chapters in this book examine various aspects of individual psychology such as problems of personality, physique and character, the psychology of character, or the nature of intelligence.

Key Ideas in Psychology
A review of the key ideas in the field, this work is aimed at people who are new to the field of psychology and people who want a general unbiased guide to the field. Topics covered include personality, language, memory, and perception.

SERIALS

The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other psychology journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.

Psychology Today
This bi-monthly periodical aimed at the layperson discusses popular psychology and its effects on everyday life.

Monitor on Psychology
This is a general psychology journal published by the American Psychological Association. The journal includes sections on how public policy affects psychology and vice versa and information on ethics.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm