Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Public Policy resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Public Policy as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.
PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
PUBLIC POLICY DATABASES
ABI/INFORM
ABI/INFORM covers more than 1,800 business, management, and public policy and administration journals providing citations, abstracts, and some full text. Users can search the database in a number of ways including author, subject, and title, and limit their search to full text articles and scholarly publications. Users can also browse issues of periodicals that are included full text.
Business Source Premier
With domestic and international sources, Business Source Premier provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles from business and public policy and administration journals, magazines, and scholarly journals.
International Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting of articles from English and non-English language periodicals throughout the world. Major journals in political science, public law, international public law, and international relations are covered.
PAIS International
This database is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.
PolicyFile
This resource allows users to search for non-partisan information on policy issues. Information is provided by leading think tanks, research organizations, university programs, publishers, and advocacy groups. Policy File includes access to more than 51,000 abstracts as well as links to full-text sites.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Ethics in Public Management
Call Number: 172.2 E843
Circulating Collection
This title examines various aspects of ethics in public administration such as behavioral models, research and theory, political corruption, and accountability.
Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration
Call Number: Reference 320.603 S525d
Reference Collection
Geared toward students, researchers, and government officials, this dictionary provides about 1,600 brief definitions of important public policy terms. In addition, it also gives brief biographies of major scholar and influential practitioners as well as summaries of important Supreme Court rulings.
Handbook of Public Administration
Call Number: 350 H236 1996
Circulating Collection
This handbook is a guide to modern administration challenges, including managing the public sector, shaping and implementing policy, effective budgeting and fiscal administration, and other topics.
Introduction to Health Services
Call Number: 362.10973 I612 1993
Circulating Collection
Beginning with a “historical evolution and overview of health services in the United States,” this title looks at the bases of health, disease, and care seeking, indicators and predictors of health services use, long-term care, mental health services, among other topics.
Toward a New Public Administration: The Minnowbrook Perspective
Call Number: 350 T737
Circulating Collection
This groundbreaking work is a collection of papers presented at a conference to evaluate the field of public administration. Included in this volume are papers in response to the originally presented conference papers.
Deserving and Entitled: Social Constructions and Public Policy
Call Number: 320.60973 D451
Circulating Collection
This collection of essays looks at the historical roots of deservedness and entitlement and the formulation of lines between deserving and undeserving. The essayist also look at why particular populations are allowed to benefit from policy and other populations are not.
Urban Politics and Public Policy
Call Number: 301.364 L754u 1978
Circulating Collection
This title looks at policy choices in urban communities, especially as they effect urban life.
EBOOKS
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy
Geared toward students, teachers, and researchers, this encyclopedia provides nearly 300 in depth entries about important topics in public administration and public policy. The online version of this title is updated quarterly.
SERIALS
The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other organizational behavior journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.
Public Administration and Development
In five issues a year, this international journal highlights training strategies, research, and practice in the field.
Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (J-PART)
This quarterly journal, aims to bring together the organizational, administrative, and policy sciences as they apply to government and governance.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07 |