Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Radio/TV/Film resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Radio/TV/Film as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
GENERAL DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.
Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of citations to arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.
Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.
RADIO/TV/FILM DATABASES
Communication Abstracts
The database covers articles on general communication; mass communication; advertising; marketing; broadcasting; communication theory; interpersonal and intrapersonal communication; small group communication; organizational communication; journalism; public relations; radio; public opinion; speech; and television.
FIAF International Filmarchive Database
This database is an international film archive and includes references to articles about film. Users can search in a number of ways, including film title, film director, and producer.
Mass Media Articles Index
Indexing the primary journals in mass media, this database contains citations to articles relating to the study of radio, television and other forms of mass media. Users can search by keyword or subject, author, or title.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Containing more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcast, including special news-related broadcasting, such as ABC’s Nightline, this database is the most extensive and complete archive of television newscasts. Users can search by keyword and limit their search by year, network, or a particular news anchor.
BOOKS
The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.
Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Call Number: 016.79143 E54f
Referene Collection
This title includes references to variety of reference materials in the area of film and television, also focusing of specific formats and genres as well as fans and audiences.
Now the News: The Story of Broadcast Journalism
Call Number: 070.19097 B649n
Circulating Collection
Covering almost a century of broadcast news, the author examines the history of broadcast journalism, from radio to satellite communication. Each of the chapter covers an event, person, or idea that shaped broadcast journalism.
Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: L 791.4503 M986
Reference Collection
Focusing primarily on the United States, Canada, Britain, and Australia, this three volume work contains more than 1,100 entries on subjects relating to television.
WEB SITES
Museum of Broadcast Communications
This archive is made up of over 85,000 hours of broadcast television, including 11,000 vintage and contemporary commercials. Users can find desired items by keyword searching.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last updated 08/29/07
|