Sociology

Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Sociology resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Sociology as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.

Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets you narrow your search down to type of publication, document type, or by date. Another special feature of this database is its ability to search for images.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource allows users to simultaneously search online encyclopedias of business, education, history, medicine, religion, and social science.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
This database has bibliographic information for articles from over 2,600 international journals on subjects such as economics, political sciences, sociology, and anthropology. There is no full text, but merely citations to articles. By using the advanced search feature, users can search a number of ways including by abstract, geographic area, journal title, or URL.

JSTOR
JSTOR offers historical access to back runs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, most going back to a journal’s first issue. Users can search by keyword, limiting their search to journals in a particular field, by author or by journal. JSTOR users can also limit their search to articles, reviews, opinion pieces, or other materials.

PCI Full Text
PCI provides complete historical coverage of selected journals in the humanities and the social sciences from 1770-1995. Many of the journals PCI provides access to are no longer published. In addition to English, this database also provides access to articles in a number of Western European languages. Users can search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, and journal subject.

Web of Science
Despite its name, Web of Science is a database of arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences articles. Users can search by topic, author, journal title, or cited reference. The database also provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. These indexes allow users to search for references within articles.

Wilson Select Full Text Plus
This database has citations, abstracts, and full text articles from a number of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Users can search by keyword, subject, author, and title. They can also limit searches to articles, reviews, and literature. Wilson Select Full Text Plus also provides access to non-English language publications. Finally, users can limit their search to items that are provided full text or items that are held in the Northwestern University Library collection.

SOCIOLOGY DATABASE

Sociological Abstracts
This database contains citations and abstracts from over 2,500 journals, dissertations, conference papers, book reviews, and books on sociology. Also included are citations and abstracts to articles in related fields such as anthropology, economics, and medicine.

BOOKS

The following are a selection of general print resources available at Schaffner Library. However, Schaffner can obtain books from the Main Library in Evanston. Patrons need to fill out the “Book Request Form” available in the Schaffner Library or on the Schaffner Library Web site.

Durkheimian Sociology: Cultural Studies
Call Number: 301 D963
Circulating Collection
This title uses The Elementary Forms of the Religious Life as its point of departure. The essay authors use a “Durkheimian framework to analyze phenomena which are disruptive, contingent, and related to social change.”

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: L 301.03 E565 2000
Reference Collection
This five volume set covers all aspects of sociology and has expanded and updated entries on race, poverty, violence, and abortion. Most entries have a bibliography to help with further research.

Oxford Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Peoples and Cultures
Call Number: L 032 O98
Reference Collection
In seven volumes and over 2,000 entries, this encyclopedia contains information about people from around the world. Also included is a gazetteer and tabular information about each country of the world.

Modern Sociological Theory: An Introduction
Call Number: 301.01 A159m
Circulating Collection
An overview of the major schools of sociological theory, this work aims to familiarize students with recent developments in the field. It also defines structural functionalism, conflict theory, symbolic interactionism, and phenomenological sociology.

Masters of Sociological Thought: Ideas in Historical and Social Context
Call Number: 301.0922 C834m
Circulating Collection
This work is a history of sociology theory with chapters on Comte, Marx, Spencer, Durkheim, Simmel, Weber, Veblen, Cooley, Mead, Park, Parento, Mannheim, and Sorokin.

Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Source
Call Number: 016.301 A167 2005
Reference Collection
This bibliography of sociology materials focuses on materials published between the years of 1997 and 2004. Materials are arranged by type of reference source and sociological field.

SERIALS

The following serials are merely a selection of journals available online. The Main Library has print copies of numerous other sociology journals. Copies of articles can be obtained using the “Article Request Form” in the Schaffner Library or available on the Schaffner Web site.

Sociological Forum
This general sociological journal emphasizes innovative sociological topics. The journal also publishes articles in related disciplines.

Qualitative Sociology
This journal contains articles about the qualitative interpretation of social life. Articles deal with theory, fieldwork, historical analyses, and qualitative analysis of quantitative data.

WEB SITE

The Socio Web
This Web site is a guide to sociological resources on the Web. It includes links to journals, university departments, sociological theory, and surveys and studies.

For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.

Last updated 08/29/07

 

Joseph Schaffner Library
339 E. Chicago Ave, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-3071
Yahoo! Map of this Location
Directions to Schaffner and the Chicago Campus

(312) 503-8422 (phone)
(312) 503-8930 (fax)

schaffner-reference@northwestern.edu
schaffner-circulation@northwestern.edu

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday-Thursday: Noon to 10pm
Friday: Noon to 9pm
Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Sunday: Noon to 5pm