Librarians at Schaffner Library on the Chicago campus have compiled the following list of Sports Administration resources that can be obtained from the Schaffner Library print collection or accessed remotely through one of the computers at Schaffner Library (or from your home). These resources are designed to answer basic questions in Sports Administrtion as well as serve as a jumping off point for further research. The journals listed here contain some of the most current research in the field.
Materials from the Main Library in Evanston can also be obtained for your use. You can either come to Schaffner and fill out a Book Request Form or an Article Request Form, or you can use the online forms from Schaffner’s Web site at http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/book.html (for book requests) and http://www.library.northwestern.edu/schaffner/article.html (for article requests).
DATABASES
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides citations and abstracts from nearly 2,900 scholarly journals, as well as full text access to over 1,200 journals. Users can search in a number of ways including, author, title, subject, geographic terms, company entity, journal name, and ISBN. The advanced search feature lets users narrow their search down to type of publication, document type, or by date.
Expanded Academic ASAP (EXAC)
Covering current affairs, humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences, this database has citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1,000 periodicals, including some popular magazines such as People, Time, and Newsweek. Searching can be done by subject and subject subdivisions, as well as by keyword and journal title.
Business Source Premier
With domestic and international sources, Business Source Premier provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles from business and public policy and administration journals, magazines, and scholarly journals.
ABI/INFORM
ABI/INFORM covers more than 1,800 business, management, and public policy and administration journals providing citations, abstracts, and some full text. Users can search the database in a number of ways including author, subject, and title, and limit their search to full text articles and scholarly publications. Users can also browse issues of periodicals that are included full text.
SPORTDiscus
This resource contains citations and selected abstracts to articles covering sports, fitness, recreation, and related fields. Coverage is from 1975 to the present with some thesis coverage back to 1949.
BOOKS
Handbook of Sports Economics Research
Call Number
: 338.47796 H236
Circulating Collection
This handbook takes the data available from sports and applies economic and business behavior behavior theories.
The Bottom Line: Observations and Arguments on the Sports Business
Call Number: 338.47796 Z71bo
Circulating Collection
This collection of more than 100 essays written between 1998 and 2006 on the sports industry delve into several important sports business issues, including the financing of new stadiums, the financial value of professional teams, revenue sharing programs, the flaws in "competitive balance" plans, walkouts and lockouts, the cost of college sports programs, and the fallout from Congressional hearings on steroid use by professional athletes.
Global Sport Sponsorship
Call Number: 796.0698 G562
Circulating Collection
This text provides a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary analysis of the relationship between sports and commerce. Topics covered include the strategic nature of global sport sponsorship; the role of celebrities in global advertising; the utilization of sponsorship in the construction of global alliances; and more. In this volume, contributors from the fields of marketing, management, sociology, cultural studies, tourism, and gender studies provide a comprehensive, multidisciplinary analysis of the relationship between the worlds of sport and commerce.
EBOOKS
The Ultimate Guide to Sports Marketing
This guide to sports event management and marketing provides tips on how to enter the sports marketing field, how to use the Internet as a marketing tool, and advice on acquiring funding for sports events. This book looks at getting the first job interview to acquiring funding, negotiating contracts, managing event logistics, as well as discussions with top-level professionals who helped establish and define the field.
SERIALS
International Journal of Sports Marketing and Sponsorship
This journal is aimed at those in the field as well as academics and covers the areas of sports management; sports marketing and sponsorship; sports law; and sports media.
Sport Management Review
Sport Management Review covers the management, marketing, and governance of sports.
For questions about this page, please contact Qiana Johnson, Reference and Instruction Librarian, q-johnson@northwestern.edu, 312/503-6617.
Last revised 01/18/08
|