Guides
|
|
The Marjorie I. Mitchell
Multimedia Center's circulating collection has four main facets:
Documentary
films |
| |
Titles
in the documentary film collection may cover all subject
areas
and are selected to support the instruction and research needs
of the faculty and students. English language material predominates,
with little foreign language material in the collection. Preference
is given to films that are unique in their approach or treatment
and that will significantly enhance the learning experience.
Because they are generally very expensive to purchase, preference
is also given to documentary films that have been reviewed
favorably and that are likely to be of sustained interest
to more than
one faculty member or discipline at Northwestern University.
Television news specials and other titles that are in the
public
domain (political conventions, Presidential debates and speeches,
etc.) are collected on a comprehensive basis. |
|
| |
|
|
Performing
arts |
| |
Titles
are acquired in the broad areas of drama, opera and classical
music, and dance. Because of their broad interdisciplinary appeal
and the limited number of new releases each year, drama and
opera titles are acquired on a sustained level adequate to support
undergraduate and most graduate instruction (although at less
than research intensity). Different performances of the same
title may be acquired. However, general interest titles of classical
music performances are not acquired unless they have a special
and significant pedagogical value. Dance titles (both ballet
and modern dance) are acquired to support a basic collection.
Instructional or training titles in the performing arts are
not acquired, since these are the audio-visual equivalent of
textbooks, which the Library does not purchase. |
|
| |
|
|
Feature
films and television |
| |
These collections
supports the Radio/TV/Film department in the School of Speech
as well as a broad range of courses
in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences (WCAS). The collection
covers the chronological period from silent films to to
the
present, including television. |
|
| |
|
|
Spoken
Word recordings |
| |
The
Multimedia Center has an older collection of approximately
5,000
spoken word recordings. The collection covers a wide
range of drama, poetry, and prose recordings. All of
the titles have been cataloged and re-formatted onto the
audiotrack
of
1/2" VHS videotape. |
|
|
Marjorie I. Mitchell Multimedia Center
University Library
1970 Campus Drive
2-South
Evanston, IL 60208-2300
(847) 491-7678 // voice
(847) 491-8306 // fax
nulmedia@northwestern.edu
Last updated: February 12, 2008